Highest quality online therapy and psychiatry services in Manhattan as well as New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, and Texas

Experiencing grief is one of life’s toughest challenges, and it can be hard to find your way back from the anger and depression you feel. Rappore, a telehealth-based mental health practice headquartered Manhattan, New York, matches people struggling with the grieving process to highly skilled counselors. Their licensed clinicians provide psychotherapy and psychiatry services to patients in multiple states, including New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, and Texas. Their empathy and support help you work through your grief and learn to live with purpose.

What is grief?

Grief is the emotion you feel when you lose someone or something that means a great deal to you. Most people associate grief with bereavement — the death of a family member, friend, or beloved pet. Grief can also affect you for many other reasons, from losing a job you love to suffering from a severe illness or injury.

  • Denial: When one hears the news that triggers their grief, they often find it hard or impossible to accept. One might be sure there has been a mistake, for example, that it is a person with the same name who has died, or the hospital test results confirming they have cancer are wrong. 
  • Anger: When one realizes that their worst fear is true and faces the reality of loss, anger often takes over. It’s common for people to shout or scream, look for someone to blame, and lose their temper very quickly. 
  • Bargaining: Bargaining is the phase of grief where one prays to their god or begs some higher power to undo what has happened. People often promise they will do anything, including sacrificing their own life, hoping they can reverse the tragedy. 
  • Depression: Depression causes feelings of overwhelming sadness and despair. It develops when one knows they cannot do anything to change what has happened. It is often the most persistent and challenging phase of grief.
  • Acceptance: With the proper support, one can process their grief and reach acceptance. This is where one begins recovering from their loss and living a more rewarding life again. Everyone’s experience is unique, but most experience these five stages of grief. One might go through them in a different order, or some may be very brief while others last for months or years. Some people get stuck in one phase, like depression, and struggle to move on.

How does grief counseling help?

Rappore’s compassionate therapists provide essential support to people struggling with grief. After completing the Rappore Mental Health Fingerprint® questionnaire, our therapists employ modalities like acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) to help understand one’s feelings, express them safely, and challenge flawed thinking patterns. Addressing feelings of anger and depression may also be part of the treatment.

Conditions We Treat
No case is too complicated. Our team of licensed therapists and psychiatrists are dedicated to helping you find solutions to life’s challenges.
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
Trauma & Post Traumatic Stress (PTSD)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
Eating Disorders
Borderline Personality

Women's Mental Health
College & Graduate Student Mental Health
LGBTQ+ Mental Health
Health & Covid Concerns
Low Self Esteem 
Job Stress
Dating Challenges
Couples Issues
Parenting Issues